Awards and Fellowships

ESCEO-IOF Servier Pierre D. Delmas Prize

The European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis (ESCEO) and the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) will present in 2012 the third edition of the Pierre Delmas Prize, with the support of Servier.

Pierre Delmas, Professor of Medecine and Rheumatology at the University of Lyon, France, Director of the INSERM research unit « Pathophysiology of Osteoporosis », was an outstanding scientist who directed essential basic and clinical research in metabolic bone diseases, particulary in osteoporosis and osteoarthritis.

He was the Founding President of the IOF.

Servier, an independant research-orientated pharmaceutical company with a long history of relationships with researchers and clinicians, particulary in the field of osteoporosis and osteoarthritis, is proud to participate, as sole sponsor, in the creation of the Pierre Delmas Prize.

The Pierre Delmas Prize will be awarded every year to an individual for outstanding and major scientific contributions to the study of bone and mineral diseases, and consists of a grant of €40,000 and a medal.

The prize Committee will be composed of remarkable Scientists chosen within the IOF Committee of Scientific Advisors and ESCEO Scientific Advisory Board. The second edition of the Pierre Delmas Prize will be granted in March 2012 in Bordeaux during the IOF-ECCO12 Congress.

Click here to download the file (pdf)

ESCEO-IOF Herbert Fleisch Medal


This prestigious prize valued at €20,000 had been established by ESCEO and IOF. It is an important award which recognizes a researcher who has made outstanding and groundbreaking achievements in basic bone science. The award is named in honour of Herbert Fleisch, a renowned researcher whose groundbreaking work considerably influenced knowledge about bone and mineral metabolism.


ESCEO Young Investigator Awards

The ESCEO Young Investigator Awards, recognize young investigators for their excellence in bone and mineral research.

The awards includes a €2,500 grant and are given to the lead investigator of the two highest scored abstracts submitted for presentation at the IOF-ECCEO12 Annual Meeting. Only applicants up to 40 years of age (at the date of submission will be considered).

ESCEO-AMGEN Fellowships 2012

The European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis (ESCEO) is pleased to announce two Osteoporosis Fellowship Awards, courtesy of a grant of Amgen.

The intent of these awards is to provide support to eligible institutions to develop and enhance the opportunities for physicians or PhD's training for careers in Osteoporosis.

Recipients will be selected primarily on the basis of the quality of the research proposal outlined in the application. Only one application per fellow may be submitted.

The Scientific Advisory Board of the European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis (ESCEO) will review the applications.

This fifth ESCEO-Amgen Fellowship Awards will be presented during the "Fellowship Awards Ceremony" at IOF-ECCEO12. The recipients will each receive $50,000 US for 1 year to support their fellowship stipend. (Institutions may be asked to certify that funds will be applied towards stipend only. These funds are non-renewable).

All awards applications and supporting materials must be submitted on or before February 13, 2012 through this website and by mail. Late or incomplete packages will not be considered. Applications will be notified of the committee's decision no later than March 15, 2012.

ESCEO fully respects and acknowledges the scientific independency of the Recipient of the ESCEO-AMGEN fellowship program, in particular but not limited to with respect to publications. There shall be no influence on publications prepared and/or published by the Recipient and/or in connection with the fellowship program. However, the recipient of the Fellowship Award shall ensure that any publication manuscript is provided to Amgen at least sixty (60) days prior to submission for publication and Amgen has the limited right to request amendments to be incorporated into the publication, provided these amendments refer to information related to Amgen's confidential business information and/or information infringing Amgen's intellectual property rights. This obligation shall be limited to manuscripts generated in connection with the Award for the fellowship program within 24 months after transfer of the funds from ESCEO to the recipient of the fellowship program.

APPLY ON (click here)

IOF-SERVIER Young Investigator Research Grant

The IOF-Servier Young Investigator Research Grant aims specifically at encouraging young scientists to carry out high quality research. The grant is generously supported by the Servier Research group in partnership with IOF, and awards €40,000 towards original research of significant value and international relevance in the field of osteoporosis. Consistent with IOF's objectives, the project must contribute to ensuring that osteoporosis sufferers receive the best care possible.

NEXT GRANT: to be awarded at the European Congress on Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis (IOF-ECCEO12), March 21 - 24, 2012 in Bordeaux, France.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Only applicants up to 40 years of age (at the date of submission)
  • Staff of pharmaceutical companies are not eligible for the grant
  • The research project shall not be related to a pharmaceutical product
  • There shall be no conflict of interest between Servier and the grant winner
  • Applicants will be required to fully disclose any significant financial interest relating to the projects proposed for the Grant

The results of the research conducted with the aid of this Grant may be published in an international journal subject to IOF being informed in advance and should acknowledge the support of Servier and the IOF. The Award winner is expected to provide a report at the end of the period for which the funding is authorised.

IOF-SERVIER Young Investigator Research Grant : link on the IOF website

IOF Medal of Achievement

In 2006 IOF introduced a prestigious new award, the IOF Medal of Achievement, to honour individual researchers who have significantly advanced the field of osteoporosis through their original and outstanding scientific contributions.

The award underlines important aspect's of IOF's mission - to increase understanding and awareness of osteoporosis and to promote medical innovation and improved care. The next IOF Medal of Achievement, which includes US$1500 in prize money, will be presented at the European Congress on Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis (IOF-ECCEO12), March 21 - 24, 2012 in Bordeaux, France.

IOF Medal of Achievement : link on the IOF website

IOF Pierre Delmas Award

The IOF Pierre Delmas Award, formerly named IOF President's Award, will be presented every year in rotation during the IOF-ECCEO congresses or IOF Regionals. The award, named in honour of the late Professor Pierre D. Delmas, IOF's Founding President, honors an individual who has made a significant and unstinting contribution to the advancement of the work of the IOF, through furthering one or more of the mission statements and/or goals of the Foundation. IOF members are invited to nominate candidates for the award. Its winner will be presented with a statuette, plus CHF1,500 in prize money.

Pierre Delmas Award : link on the IOF website